Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that any type of crime should have a fixed penalty, whereas others believe that the conditions of criminals and the motive for committing crime should be considered for making decisions on punishment. I strongly agree with the former opinion and my reasons for that will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that unnoticed crimes can pose a threat to the security of society. Once an offender escapes from being punished they may be encouraged to commit more crimes. Consequently, the citizens of society are unable to live their lives peacefully. The situation is compounded by the fact that people find it difficult to discern criminals from ordinary individuals in the city. As a result, the sense of trust can be seriously damaged and this causes major problems for city residents. In other words, people fail to engage in social activities, attend their workplaces or even go on holiday. Therefore, a large part of the community will suffer from the consequences of not punishing offenders. On the other hand, another group of people claim that effective environmental factors for committing crimes and the criminals’ incentives should always be addressed before a decision is made on their punishment. They insist that a range of reasons such as financial issues, family problems, and so on are the causes of turning to crime. However, this argument does not convince me because the offenders are responsible for their violent acts. They should be discouraged from committing any form of crime so that society remains safe and secure. In conclusion, in my view, punishments can act as a deterrent and prevent the spread of violence in the community. Moreover, appropriate penalties make society safe and secure.