Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

In today’s society, there is a growing trend among parents to indulge their children everything being requested. From my point of view, this way of raising a child will be detrimental to their grown-up life as it has a range of repercussions. The primary reasons as to why parents should not accommodate every demand of their children is over-reliant behaviour. This is because the children whose wishes are granted on a regular basis, often lack motivation to endeavour as there is no hindrance to the process of getting the toys, for example. In other words, kids who are reared in a permissive family tend not to address the problems themselves but rely everything on their parents. Furthermore, children who are given permissions to do whatever they like may display their interpersonal incompetence since they are not used to being rejected. This means they may not be able to get along with others easily in their later life. As a result, it is recommended that parents should set a boundary on what their children are allowed to do. The parents’ extravagance and leniency towards their adolescent boy or girl may result in undesirable consequences. The major one is an absence of budgeting skills as they have been raised without any limit on their finance. Therefore, these people can become impulsive shoppers who often buy things they do not need as well as make unwise financial decisions in their work. Another significant consequence is those children may develop their self-centred personality that lead to manipulative, selfish and demanding attitude towards others. In other words, they may have the proclivity to be indifferent to other feelings. In conclusion, albeit it is easy to succumb to children’s demand, parents should not allow children to do everything they want. If they fail to discipline their kids, children may grow up with poor attitude and lack basic life skills.