Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while other think it is a waste of time. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In our modern society, with its technocratic scope, less and less people are concerned about their mental health and stability. This has resulted in individuals claiming that the arts are a waste of time and should be removed from the school's curriculum. I personally feel that, their importance is significant. In this write up I will attempt to debate both views. Firstly, on the one hand, the arts are immensely important. They give students the opportunity to think in an original and different way, while giving colour to their reality. Music and other forms of art, uplift individuals and calm them down. For example, from my own experience playing the trumpet, it relieves me from my everyday stress and worries. Lastly, they bring up skill and traits we never knew we had and make us more complete individuals. On the other hand, secondly, they take time off the school's schedule that could otherwise be used for math and other principal sciences. The need for these is ever increasing in order to comply with the demands of our society. To illustrate, a study carried out by the University of Cambridge showed that, more than 60% of jobs require an adequate knowledge of math or statistics. Finally, while sciences brighten your knowledge they do not cultivate your thoughts, which can lead to uncertain individuals. In conclusion, the arts should be an important part of the educational curriculum. And also it's my firm belief that more creative activities should be implemented in order for more children to profit off this.