Some people think that youngsters should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Are disadvantages of this requirement greater than the benefits for the community and individuals?

It is suggested by a few that adolescents ought to volunteer themselves for the community work. In my opinion, I believe that although, youth performing community work has a few disadvantages, the positives it brings largely outweighs its drawbacks. It is granted that doing community work by a youngster may have some disadvantages. One of the most obvious disadvantages that might stem from this volunteer work is the poor academic performances. Since youngsters are often too committed in their studies nowadays, sparing time for unpaid community work may affect their academic career adversely. In other words, many volunteer works require a full time effort for which a young student might has to sacrifice the time which is reserved for his studies. Consequently, spending additional time in extra-curricular activities like volunteer working may spoil the academic performance of young students who are often at a crucial point in their academic career. For instance, a recent survey conducted on the students who join volunteer work has shown an academic deterioration of as much as 30% as compared to their educational performance before joining these community works. Nevertheless, despite the above, community work offers a lot of benefits to both the society and the youngsters themselves. Firstly, to help the poor and fragile individuals of the society brings equality and harmony in a community. In other words, rendering help in the form of money, food or services to the neglected, poor and geriatric people not only abolishes the economic disparity from the community, but also spreads a word of peace and positivity. Secondly, when youngsters perform these community works they interact with a wide range of individuals belonging to different ages, regions and languages. This interaction helps them in building a better communication skills and multi-linguistic abilities that are deemed beneficial to their future lives. Finally, working voluntarily in certain fields like medicine give these youngsters a chance to learn a pre-hand practical knowledge of these professions that facilitates them to have a sound foundation in their later careers. To conclude, there are various benefits of adolescent's community work like equitable society, better communicability and professional careers. It is therefore suggested that although the advantages of community work outweigh the few negatives. But these negatives should be accounted for.