Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether stricter penalties or other steps could make our road safer. I believe that both punishments and a range of other measures can be used together to promote better driving habits. On the one hand, penalties can certainly help to encourage people to drive more safely. Strict punishments could act as a deterrent, encourage people to stick to the rules, and avoid repeating the same offence. Without them, there would be traffic accidents every now and then. For example, the rates of drunk driving have increased dramatically in Taiwan, which causes numerous deaths and injuries. However, if our government imposed stricter laws such as heavy fines, license suspension, or even prison sentences, there would be a sharp decrease in road accidents, and people would be more disciplined and alert. On the other hand, other measures could be taken to improve drivers’ behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour. Firstly, it is essential to educate people about the detrimental consequences of reckless driving before they start to drive. Secondly, regular driving tests should be administered to drivers on a regular basis. People usually forget traffic rules and develop bad driving habits after years of driving. Retaking the tests ensure drivers to be attentive and careful when driving. Finally, governments and local councils could spend money on public infrastructure. By doing that, it can reduce people’s dependence on private transport, and directly reduce the road accidents. In conclusion, it seems to me that both penalties and road safety measures can help to prevent the behavior manner of acting or controlling yourself behaviour of driving, and lead to safe driving.