Some people are of the opinion that there should be a car-free day once every month, on which no private vehicles are allowed on the road. Discuss the advantages and possible disadvantages

According to some peoples opinion, a car-free day should be there once in a month. The advantages and disadvantages will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. Firstly, on environmental point of view, a car-free day helps in lowering a significant amount of carbon emission into the environment. The consumption of fuel for cars is a bit more when compared to other vehicles. Hence a car-free day helps in reducing the usage of gasoline, which proportionately deduce the release of carbon related gases like carbon-monoxide, carbon-dioxide etc. Hence, a clear difference between a car-free day and an ordinary day can be observed. Secondly, as per the recent censes, there is a rapid increase in time spent by the individual in traffic. Commuting via cars, hikes traffic and the mobility of the vehicle drops. It indirectly makes commuters impatient and results in honking in frustrated manner which may cause further problems. Hence it may also make an impact psychologically. All these problems will be mitigated with car-free day. On the other hand, the negative side of car-free day is it increase load on public transport increase on car-free day. At the peak time, the waiting time for the buses, metro trains might increase. Furthermore, it becomes a challenge to an employee going to the workplace. Hence, a car-free day might also cause a few problems to the society. To conclude, car-free day helps in controlling pollution and traffic and on the other way, it increases the load on the public transport and becomes a challenge to the working sector.