Many working people get little or no exercise either during working day or in their free time, and have health problems as a result. Why do many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about it?

The majority of workers today, develop health issues, due to lack of physical activities. The two main reasons behind the lack of exercise are long working hours and passive activities, preferred by people, in their leisure time. This essay will analyse the two leading causes of this problem, while suggesting feasible solutions. Firstly, in this point of cut-throat competition, employees have to work extended hours, to maintain their positions in the company and keep their jobs. In addition to this, employers often set up unrealistic goals for the wage earners to achieve, which makes them spend three-fourth of their day, labouring. To cite an example, a study conducted in 2015 in the USA found that, the majority of the American workforce, spent 12-13 hours a day at the office. This leaves them with almost no space to engage in outdoor games or other fitness activities, which leads to obesity and related problems. Secondly, during their spare hours, the working people often choose to engage in passive activities, such as watching TV or playing games, rather than working out, due to stressful routines. For example, it has been found out by a survey that, 90% of earners, consider watching TV as the hobby they like pursuing during the rest stage. Watching telly, only takes a click of a button, and hence people find it greatly relaxing. Furthermore, individuals often eat snacks as well as unhealthy foods, such as chips and popcorn, while enjoying tv shows, which only adds to the problem. Numerous steps can be taken to curb this problem. The Government should fix the maximum amount of hours, one can work during a week and businesses should set up achievable goals for associates, as this will reduce stress as well as provide enough time for people to participate in fitness activities. For instance, 40 hours a week, will provide the employees with plenty hours to train. Also, the local authorities can create awareness, through ads and campaigns, about the importance of exercising, among the citizens. To conclude, lack of physical training is a root cause of a number of diseases and has to be fought with. The reduced working day length and awareness campaigns can, assist in winning this battle, by motivating human civilization to work out regularly.