Some people believe that international sporting events are the ideal opportunity to show the world the qualities of the hosting nation. Others believe that these events are mainly a large unjustifiable expense. To what extebt do you agree or disagree?

International sporting events have always been a matter of debate, with some arguing that they provide an excellent platform to exhibit a hosting nation's qualities, while others contend that they are simply a colossal and unjustifiable event. It is my contention that depending on the countries ' background, the payback of arranging such massive sports organizations can vary significantly. First and foremost, in the contemporary world, a majority of countries aspire to be able to host an international athletics tournament with a whim to attract global attention to their countries. To exemplify this statement, economically advantageous countries such as Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates were competing for a right to hold the next FIFA World Football Cup, to showcase their commitment towards elevated modernity, infrastructural development and human rights. Furthermore, since these international activities are being pursued by millions of followers and fans from all across the world, the host countries will have a chance to advertise the beauty of their country by promoting their cultural and societal norms. Consequently, these countries begin to turn into tourist hubs in the following years, thus, generating a considerable amount of revenue. On the contrary side, history is full of occasions when countries with ambitious plans and monetary resources that used to be conceived as infinite were bankrupted and underwent a massive devaluation due to the massive failures of their plans to curry favour with the international communities. One such example occurred in 2008, when the Greek government had to terminate the World Olympic Games, attributable to a financial crisis caused by exorbitant purchases and budget overruns prior to this event. Greece's economy has not yet thoroughly recovered from this loss, resulting in residents losing their jobs and houses. Moreover, presently, a majority of oil-rich countries competing with each other to win the game-host awards just in an attempt to create a positive portrayal representing the true colours of their countries. Despite the tremendous amount of effort and finance put into this work, viewers may not find these sports events captivating enough. In conclusion, holding an internationally renowned sporting event has always been a multifaceted phenomenon with both positive and negative implications.