Overpopulation is a big problem today in many major urban centers. What are the causes, and possible solutions?

Nowadays, there is a dramatic increase of the world's population, especially in well-developed cities, with high number of facilities. This essay will look at the reasons for this and will propose some relevant solutions. One of the main causes for this problem is the high birth rate. People nowadays make more children than before, the number of extended families is rising, and the young mothers' number as well. A possible solution for this would be to introduce a one-child-policy, allowing abortion and in this way overpopulation could be avoided. Moreover, governments should make people aware of the consequences of the highly populated places. Another problem is the immigration. Everybody, all around the world is moving from a place to another, because of the great opportunities each well equipped country provides. Furthermore, there are many places where the economy is weak and the unemployment rate is high, so the citizens decide to leave their home for something better and the most popular options are the major urban areas. To tackle this issue, the authorities must implement visas for the immigrants, and must try to keep everything under control. Take as an example the USA, where there are several settlement schemes and few people are eligible for it, which is the reason why it is very complicated to settle down there. In conclusion, there are various reasons of the overpopulation in big cities, but the way forward could be the implementation of new policies or the example of the USA, the introduction of a settlement scheme.