Despite the environmental concerns raised by scientists, people are not changing their life style. Why is this the case? What could be done to encourage the people to save the environment?

The globalization and modernization have created the various environmental issues. This has raised worrisome concerns among the ecologists and the scientists who are issuing public warnings. However, despite these warnings, people are not interested in changing their habits related to daily life. To begin with, the automobiles have made the travelling more convenient and time efficient in spite of their creating traffic congestion and emitting the carbon footprints. Secondly, deforestation provides a large piece of land which can be used for businesses, buildings, and housing. Thirdly, the air conditioners for cooling, instead of planting trees to reduce the temperature have further lead to the global warming. Fourthly, the heavy use of fertilizers and pesticides to increase the crop yield has increased their amount in the soil and even seeped deeper into the ground water. This has resulted in both soil and water pollution. Hence, it’s self centred and selfish nature of the human race, which is exploiting the earth resources for its use. Contrarily, government should take sincere steps to control the global warming and its adverse effects. For instance, the public transportation should be made more accessible and free of cost to encourage its use instead of personal cars. Tax rebate should be given to the companies and the buildings using solar panels in the electricity production. Water treatment systems should be installed by the industries to avoid disposing highly dangerous chemical waste into the local rivers. Cities should be designed in such a way that there should be a proper tree plantation and tracks for the bicycles. To recapitulate, regardless of any level of modernization, the eco-friendly efforts should be made by both the government and the public to control the global warming and reverse its adverse effects in order to save the earth for the next generations.