As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

For the last couple of years, the internet has experienced growth in terms of popularity. The effect of this development on newspapers is that their popularity is now slowly fading. I agree with this statement because the internet and the contents inside it make people slowly leave newspapers as a source of information, and the current market for newspapers is also quite niche making it hard for newspapers to be more well known in the future. Firstly, the rise of the internet makes people's attention span slowly decrease, and consequently, this lowers newspaper consumption as well. As we are now getting more used to enjoying content online, it is rather easy to be sucked into the habit of endless scrolling on our various social media accounts. We are constantly fed with short-form media which makes us not able to pay attention to something for a long time, which is a quality needed to read and enjoy newspapers. An example that comes to mind is that there is now a dedicated Twitter account that exists to summarize recent events into shorter forms of Twitter threads, because people are too lazy to read the whole news article, and this account is getting such huge traction because of their service. Secondly, those who still consume newspapers also only came from quite niche backgrounds, limiting newspaper publishers' potential growth in target markets and eventually putting a cap on newspapers ' overall popularity. The ones who still actively read through newspapers usually come from the older generation, and/or they are people who have business backgrounds which makes keeping up with the news a necessity for them. The rest of the demographic does not really subscribe to or buy newspapers anymore. For instance, the most common course of action for the younger generation or those who do not come from business is to consume news from online update accounts, or by simply going to search engines, clicking on any link that appears at the top of the search results, and just reading these online news portals to look for updates for the current matter at hand. In conclusion, I believe that newspapers are really becoming a thing of the past. This is due to the lower level of ability that society in general nowadays has to focus on consuming longer forms of content which leads to a decrease in newspaper consumption, and the existing market for newspapers is quite segmented making it quite hard for newspapers to be more well known in the future compared to now.