Nowadays, some parents pressure their children to be successful. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is believed by some parents to put a strict daily regimen on their children to make them successful in their lives. The ambitious nature of the parents in this growing competitive world plays a major role in overwhelming the pupils with the high level of expectations. In my view, this trend is affecting the entire society in a negative manner. Firstly, the globalization, modernization and materialism have raised the standards for the survival among the communities due to the higher rate of inflation worldwide. To elaborate, the parents are really concerned about their children, and put pressure on them academically to perform outstandingly so that they can readily grab a good job opportunity and have better future prospects. Secondly, some are not able to fulfil their dreams due to the unforeseen events in their past life and hence, they want to live that dream through their offspring which indirectly burden them with a higher performance level. Thirdly, the growing feelings of comparisons, jealous and to showcase among the parents have further overwhelmed the youngsters to do extraordinarily well in their lives. Conversely, if the teenagers are equally ambitious to their parent level, then they can brightly outshine in their career graph with the help and support of them. However, a lot of family and social issues can be raised if their area of interest does not match with their parents. For instance, under the forceful restrictions, they can start developing revengeful behaviour, anger, disobedience, mental disturbances, and avoid their parents. Therefore, such circumstances can give rise to juvenile delinquency and psychiatric illnesses among the younger generation. To recapitulate, I opine that though parents are concerned for the bright and financially secure future for their offspring, but they should not force them mentally and emotionally to work hard. Such kind of attitude can divert them from leading a normal to psychologically disturbed life by screwing up under the burden of expectations.