In many countries, the consumption of fast food is becoming more and more popular. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend for individuals and for society as a whole.

There are increasing consumption of fast food amongst society in many countries and this phenomenon is giving benefits and drawbacks both for people and society. In this essay, we will discuss both perspectives. One of the advantages of the increasing consumption of fast food is the rise of the economy especially for the small and medium enterprises. This is because of their behaviour to repeat their order resulting in more profits. In Indonesia, for example, a local franchise named Kebab Turki Baba is getting popular and it helps the SMEs to expand their business and also helps the government increase their Gross Domestic Profits by about 50%. Therefore, the rising number of fast food orders is affecting the economy. On the other hand, the disadvantage of fast food is there are health issues from excessive consumption. One of the health issues is obesity, it is because of certain ingredients contained in the food. Additionally, fast foods lack nutrition and affect the development of children's health during their golden era, thus, consuming large numbers of fast food is dangerous. Some research, for instance, proves that a plate of hamburger contains 10% more calories than the ideal numbers and this can cause health issues such as obesity and it could burden children's health development. Moreover, this could be a topic to debate because of the effects of fast food on health, hence, I believe that health should be a priority rather than an economic aspect. To conclude, the consumption of fast food that become popular affects the economy because it helps small and medium enterprises, however, it affects consumers' health because of unhealthy ingredients that are contained in fast food.