Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Nowadays, in the innovated world, technological advancement plays a significant role by infiltrating all spheres of life, including education. It is considered that the frequent use of computers for studying has a positive influence, while others support the opinion that it has more negative aspects. In this essay I will discuss both points of view, followed by a reasoned conclusion. On the one hand, the people who support the point of the view that the use of computers for educational purposes causes more harm than beneficial impact. They believe so because of the over-reliance on this mode of learning. In other words, learners surfing the internet for every topic are at the risk of dormancy by not tasking their brains. Also, they believe that when used, for instance, in elementary and secondary schools, it reduces the need to develop certain skills which were important in the past such as good handwriting. As a result of this, they consider the application of computers in schools as dangerous to learning. However, I agree that there are more upsides to their usage. Firstly, their functions result in convenience. In other words, students who must work to pay tuition fees can learn at their own pace while also trying to raise funds for their academics. Additionally, the use of computer and other technology permits distance learning. For example, in several countries of the world, it is increasingly seen to take master's courses and obtain a degree without reporting to a physical building of a university. Furthermore, the internet also provides articles and journals that may be used and cited in different course works without going through the frantic search for books in libraries. Thus, it has been beneficial to the field of academics. In conclusion, although dependency on technology is undeniable causing some problems to students in their life, these are negligible as compared to their benefits and positive effect, which cannot be ignored. I strongly believe that if we use this device wisely, it can provide a lot of opportunities to students for better and more effective education. It is hoped that its use will continue to be of importance.