Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

In present day, rapid growth in the number of package tours to secluded parts of the world mark a new tendency of the tourism industry. Even though this development is beneficial to the local residents in terms of economy and living conditions, it can have detrimental effects on the environmental and social security of these areas. To begin with, increasing package holiday tours to rural areas are closely associated with the growth of the economy and the infrastructure development. Firstly, it creates more employments in the local areas as the job market for tourist related services frequently needs human resources. This in turn provides a stable income for local residents. Secondly, in order to achieve an increment in tourist arrivals, local authorities tend to enhance the quality of basic amenities and important infrastructure in these locations such as installation of water pipes, electricity, improvement of healthcare and construction of better roads. These facilities can make local's lives less difficult in remote areas. However, the expansion of package tours to isolated areas can bring negative impacts to the local environment and public security. The construction of tourism facilities can drastically change the area losing habitat to local species. Also, environmentally unconscious visitors may throw litter everywhere by increasing the pollution around the previously unspoilt areas. Furthermore, massive groups of tourist arrivals to these remote communities may lead to a serious risk of security as the visitors can have disrespectful behaviour to the customs of local people or involve themselves in illegal acts. In conclusion, the rapid growth in popularity of organized tours to isolated destinations could bring about both advantages and drawbacks to the lives of local dwellers. Therefore, local authorities must have adopt careful planning and issue reasonable policies in order to boost the tourism economy while reducing its negative influences on these areas.