In most cities and towns, the high volumes of road traffic become a problem. What are the causes of that and what actions could be taken to solve the problem?

In recent years, traffic congestion in cities has become a pressing concern as it significantly affects the environment and requires immediate attention. This essay will explore the reasons behind road congestion in cities and propose possible solutions to address it. There are several key reasons why traffic has emerged as a significant problem. One of the primary causes is the use of cars for personal use as people are using the road for commuting to their work and for travelling. For instance, in Australia, Brisbane is experiencing the worst road traffic because people are spending the majority of their time travelling to their work. Additionally, another major cause is the poor public transport in some towns and sometimes delay in public transport due to which individuals are always give their preference for using their cars for reaching at their destinations on time. This factor leads to the emergence of more cars on roads and hazardous gases impacting the surroundings. To tackle this issue, several effective measures can be implemented. One of the potential solutions is to put restrictions on the entrance of heavy vehicles or cars in the cities during working hours. This approach would assist in reducing the usage of cars for commuting to work and less traffic on roads. Another possible solution is to invest more in public transport. Higher authorities must utilise money on improving and developing the public transport so that people can easily access it and always give their first choice for travelling. In conclusion, traffic congestion on roads stems from the usage of cars for personal use and poor transport system has led to more cars on roads. However, by implementing solutions such as restrictions on the entrance of vehicles in cities and by investing in public transport, it is possible to mitigate this issue.