Around the world it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and more accessible. Do you think it is a negative or a positive development?

The development of modern technology and digitization has increased its accessibility at an international level due to its affordable prices. This has raised the likelihood of working and studying from home for adults and children respectively. In my own perspective, I disagree with this notion as it doesn’t promote the overall personality development of an individual. To begin with, a residence can’t mimic the office place due to a large number of distractions from children, family responsibilities, and lack of other staff members. For instance, a boss gives an employee motivation and guidance to perform extraordinarily well in completing the assignments. In addition to it, discussion meetings and sharing ideas with the entire team further improve the job performance and helps in building interpersonal and social skills. Moreover, face to face interactions with the clients have more convincing power than the technology driven communication through the video conferences and emails. Similarly, it is very hard for the students to have a focused study with the full level of concentration outside the classroom. To elaborate, teachers play a major role in keeping the distractions to a minimum level, and group studying with other pupils has been always more productive and interactive than self studying at the personal space. In fact, teenagers get their mind diverted from the learning topic to surfing the internet and playing video games on the computers while studying at their residence. To recapitulate, I opine that regardless of convenience in terms of time saving by doing jobs and studying at their houses, it will not be a great approach in the long term for the development of well rounded society.