In some countries more and more shops are open longer hours every day. What are the positive and negative developments of this?

A competitive world has made numerous shop owners to open their showrooms for a longer duration of the all days of the week. There are various advantages and disadvantages to this trend. On the one hand, opening shops for a long hour helps in expanding the businesses by increasing the sales and thus, generating more profits and boosting the economy. Secondly, it provides the employment as workers are needed to work during the day, night shift work schedule and thus, improving their standard of living. Thirdly, it increases the market accessibility of the products as working customers can buy items at any hour of the day due to their busy schedule and don’t have to take a day off from their job. Moreover, some can buy fresh food items such as vegetables and fruits on a daily basis. On the other hand, this work culture affects the personal life by giving less time to the family responsibilities and relationships. For instance, the children of both working parents spend most of their time by watching television and playing video games which put negative effects on their psychological development. In addition to it, they focus gets diverted from the studies to the distractions such as social media applications under the lack of constant supervision of their guardians. Moreover, the employees are left with a very little time for their own health by getting involved in the regular physical exercises and cooking healthy food at home. To recapitulate, regardless of few demerits, the prolonged opening of the market helps in generating employments, making large earnings and hence, results in the overall development of the country.