Global warming is one of the most serious issues the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming, and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Over the course of the recent decades, global warming has become one of the leading problems all around the world. Since this issue stems partly from human activities and our heavy reliance on fossil fuels, the joint effort of governments and the public is essential to mitigate this issue. Admittedly, human activities play a significant role in increasing the world’s temperature. First and foremost, Carbon dioxide from burning fossil fuels, like coal, oil and gas, in factories traps heat in the atmosphere. For instance, The New York Times reported in March 2024 that if industrial activities decrease by 15%, the US air quality will utterly transform. Furthermore, over-utilization of private vehicles running on gasoline and diesel emits considerable amounts of CO2 and other pollutants that significantly increase the temperature. In order to tackle this global issue, the amount of greenhouse gases should be reduced. Obviously, modern societies should switch to more sustainable energy sources such as solar power and wind power. Not only are these kinds of sources renewable, but also far more environmentally friendly. As a tangible example, London has become one of the cleanest cities after replacing old cars with hi-tech electronic cars. Moreover, some campaigns with the aim of raising public awareness on this issue can be highly effective in controlling global warming. In other words, residents should be informed about their activities ' negative impacts on the environment as well as learn how to overcome this challenge. In summary, due to the high level of greenhouse gas emissions, the world has become warmer than ever before. Therefore, some immediate actions like shifting to cleaner sources and educating the local population should be taken.