Children are generally more successful in foreign language studies than adults. Thus, it is better to learn languages in childhood. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is generally claimed that the best moment to learn a foreign language successfully is during the childhood and I completely agree. My belief is particularly proven by my experience as a foreigner in the UK. After five years in this country, there is no doubt that one of the biggest struggles in my British adventure is the communication barrier and I am deeply convinced that if my learning of the English language was better structured in Italian schools I would have met less difficulties and I could have left my country with much more self-confidence. In my opinion, studying a new idiom during childhood has many benefits like making student's life easier, giving more opportunities in the future and it represents an extraordinary investment compared to those ones who speak only their native tongue. Firstly, children who are educated to bilingualism through schools or parents have a wider vision of the world and the understanding of it and consequently they don’t get trapped in the tale of a single story where their culture and their way of living gives them the illusion of one only right system. Secondly, a second or third language which gets taught at school at an early stage constitutes an important skill for the children’s future careers and it would allow them to have a broad selection of options. Moreover, speaking a second idiom helps children to thrive on their interest, their personalities and their social life. In conclusion, since we are living in a multicultural world, it is an imperative schools’ duty to include in their offer one or two foreign languages so that children’s future will flourish.