Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, online learning platforms have been well developed to replace traditional learning methods in many universities. Although campus-delivery programs still have some benefits, the development of internet-based courses gives more advantages to learners. Firstly, some argue that courses delivered on campus have more benefits for students because face-to-face interaction can help them to acquire knowledge more efficiently. Although that may be true for some people, it is not true for everyone. In fact, many students feel uncomfortable in crowded classes and cannot focus to fully understand the lessons. As a result, when they study in that environment, their academic achievements are often decreased. In contrast, online learning gives students flexibility. Which means that they can learn at their favourite spaces such as quiet libraries and concentrate on their studies, resulting in better learning outcomes. Therefore, studying online is not only a flexible learning method, but also an efficient one. Furthermore, internet-based courses offer many other benefits related to students’ ability and financial matters. With regards to the former, students can proactively set their study plan with customized schedules that help them learn at their own pace. For examples, many talents can complete their four-year university programs in just 3 years, which helps them to enhance their competitive positioning in the labour market and get jobs sooner than other colleagues. Budgeting is the other major benefit. Online learning offers students the opportunity to access world-class courses at an affordable cost. This means that students can get the formal qualifications of top universities from their hometown without paying for the costs of living aboard, which are often very high in these developed countries where the schools located in. In conclusion, online courses have more advantages than traditional classes in modern tertiary education in terms of effectiveness and finance. In my view, this is a positive development and could be a replacement for most campus-based programs in universities.