Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that, due to the advancement of technology people have become closer, while others argue that new technology is the reason to separate people more. This essay agrees with the argument that “new technology makes people closer” and discusses it further. On the one hand, technology has improved the methods we have been using to communicate with each other and provides more facilities. In the beginning, basic devices used for communication, such as telephone, telegraph machines, mail etc…, which provided facilities for only voice calls, have been improved gradually and at the moment people are able to conduct virtual meetings via video conferencing facilities provided by social media, internet, smartphones etc. Moreover, with the support of internet coverage, smartphones and social media have enabled people to a limitless, instant communication regardless of location. For instance, before few years ago, in my department, if there is a need to conduct an official meeting, all participants had to gather in one place and conduct the meeting physically. But at present, almost all of the meetings are conducted online via Zoom, which provides the same experience and fulfills the requirements of the meeting. On the other hand, heavy usage of the internet and social media makes people spend more time with their laptops and smartphones, which results in the reduction of physical gatherings. Due to the above, the separation between people has increased. The new generation of youth is the best example of this issue. But this issue can be overcome by implementing proper activities among youth, which will make them engage in more physical activities. In conclusion, I believe that the new technology supports people to become closer, regardless of time and location. However, proper measures should be taken to avoid addictions.