In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is a commonly held belief that certain countries support the idea that youngsters should be allowed to have a gap year between graduating from high school and enrolling in higher education. In this essay, I am going to explain the benefits and drawbacks that come with this decision. One evident advantage of allowing youngsters to have a period off is that they have the opportunity to seek for a job in order to support themselves financially during their studies. It had been proved that plenty of families come across many related issues these days. Consequently, they are unable to provide their talented children with outstanding quality of higher schooling. If students had a term to earn enough money, endless chances would be available for them. Is it worth it? As an illustration, youngsters who are willing to work for a stretch before applying for university have more excellent chances to graduate on time since they do not have to rely on their parents financial background. In fact, learning is crucial for the full bloom of people’s knowledge. In other words, individuals should be convinced to give up their comfort in order to succeed in life. On the other hand, obvious disadvantages must be discussed as well. Losing an individual’s momentum has been among the most remarkable risks from getting caught up in this situation is not a hardship. Moreover, one year off could easily turn into multiple years. As a consequence, people will never return back to studying since they have realised how it was not convenient to study. According to statics, the majority of students who make this decision will never sit back to school again and therefore their chances to have extraordinary life is halved. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having a year off, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining education should be pressurized so that the quality of the world would be enhanced drastically.