A large number of people are being killed in road accidents every year. Why do so many accidents occur? Make recommendations that would help to reduce the number of road accidents.

Admittedly, due to increased road accidents, legions of people lose their precious lives every day. Various reasons are incorporated with this trend. Many remedial measures, if adopted and followed, can mitigate this problem to a great extent, which will be explained further in this essay. To embark upon, one of the primary reasons of increasing fatal road accidents is rash and reckless driving. People, nowadays are always in haste, whenever they commute to their workplaces or homes. So, to arrive on time, they tend to drive fast and recklessly. Consequently, it leads to severe roadway mishaps and death. Moreover, people not only drive fast, but they also use mobile phones while driving and easily get distracted from roads and become prone to accidents. Apart from this, deteriorating condition of infrastructure and ill- conditioned vehicles also contribute towards the increase in road accidents. Moving further, to alleviate this problem of increasing fatal road accidents, the most effective measure is to initiate counselling in schools and colleges. Educational authorities should encourage the students to use more public transport to avoid accidents and for their own safety. Moreover, the Government or NGO’s should increase awareness among people for road safety by organising some road – security campaigns. In addition to this, the Government should enact stern rules and laws to follow and anyone who breaks these rules should be given severe punishment. In conclusion, by considering the given information, reckless driving and deteriorating infrastructure are the significant reasons for increasing death rates due to accidents. However, some effective measures such as road - safety campaigns and strict rules can put forth to curb the number of road accidents.