oday the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree with these views?

It is felt by some that only employees who have been employed for several years should be given a raise or a higher position. In my opinion, while loyalty to the firm should be rewarded, there are other factors as well, such as performance and skill level to be considered during a promotional decision making process. Admittedly. Senior employees are vital assets of an organisation. Loyalty, years of professional experience and expertise, in their respective fields contribute immensely to the growth of a company, which ought to be recognized and rewarded as a token of appreciation. However, the length of the service period should not be the only determining factor when promoting a staff. Another factor to consider is the performance, capability and the skill level of the employee. The managers can evaluate the competency of all staff, regardless of whether they are a junior or a senior, rather focusing on how well they are able to handle tasks. For instance, if qualified freshly hired employees are denied a raise or a promotion solely due to the fact that they are ‘new’ it can do motivate them and encourage them to look elsewhere where their talents and expertise would be honoured. As such, many organisations nowadays incorporate annual staff review, where they set certain targets and evaluate employees’ performance, competency, expertise and improvements in relation to the set targets. As well as service period, other aspects are taken into account when deciding for a potential promotion, which motivates the employees to excel and to give their best to the organisation. In conclusion, I believe many aspects have to go hand in hand in order to determine one’s eligibility for a status or promotion as simply put, an employee’s experience within the company comprises just one of the many other essential factors.