Some people think that zoos are cruel and have no place in the modern world. Others feel that zoos still serve a useful purpose. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Zoos can be quite controversial amongst animal lovers. While some people think that zoos are useful in some ways, I side with those who feel that zoos are inhumane and should therefore be shut down. On the one hand, it could be argued that there are some pros of having zoos. Firstly, zoos can provide suitable living conditions for endangered animals. Take elephants for example, which are often poached for their ivory tusks, but when living in zoos, they can benefit from a protected environment to remain safe from illegal hunters. Besides that, the animals can be well taken care of due to the availability of veterinary care, and these multiple levels of protection should be able to extend their life expectancy. Secondly, zoos can act as a recreation area as well as an educational resource where visitors can see various types of animals in person and learn about them. In fact, not only can they offer fun activities such as animal feeding, but they can also raise awareness about animals that are on the verge of extinction. In other words, more people can be encouraged to partake in preservation efforts to prevent animal extinction. On the other hand, I agree with those who argue that zoos should be closed down for their sheer cruelty. Firstly, by being kept inside zoos, animals can feel extremely uncomfortable living in artificial zones, which are nowhere near as spacious as their natural habitat. For example, whale sharks, despite their immense size, are often seen being confined in relatively small pools, thereby limiting their physical movement. Given that animals are meant to roam freely by their very nature, keeping them in captivity likely creates a devastating effect on their mental well-being and should thus be perceived as morally unacceptable. Furthermore, zoos are often made as a business, and the animals are frequently forced to perform shows to entertain visitors against their will. The animals might not always have adequate rest especially when the zoos are busy. This is because the zoo management may only focus on generating as much money as possible, even at the expense of the animals’ welfare. In conclusion, while zoos could protect animals from external threats and serve educational purposes, these reasons cannot justify their operation simply because holding animals in confinement has questionable ethics. I, therefore, remain convinced that zoos no longer be permitted to operate.