Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Choosing the right kind of activities for children is a great concern of many parents. In the modern world, children tend to spend their time viewing television or playing games on a computer. Although these activities are beneficial in some ways, they are not as advantageous to children as reading stories in books. On the one hand, there are a few positive aspects of letting children watch television and play digital games. For young television viewers, the contents of it can have some educational values. The Peppa Pig series shown on BBC, for example, provides children with knowledge about dealing with many situations in the real world. For those who join video games, they can practice their hand-eye coordination skill, in addition to accuracy and reflexes. Young video gamers, as a result, can use these skills in their future life in many fields such as sports. On the other hand, there is strong evidence that reading books is more suitable and profitable for children. The contents that they watch on television and play on their digital device can sometimes be overly addictive, which prevents them from engaging in other meaningful activities in real life. On this matter, reading books is far better as it is less addictive. Reading, in addition to this, is a great way for children to develop their imagination, from which they may boost their creativity in the future. In summary, even though video games and television programmes can bring children some educational values and the opportunity to develop their dexterity skills, children may be too addicted to these activities. This would make reading books a better activity overall, considering that this is one of the best ways for the young to foster their imagination and creativity.