More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people say that the price increase of fattening foods will solve this problem.

In this day and age, a plethora of individuals are overweight and it is becoming a global problem in most developed countries. The majority of people consider that increasing the price of fattening foods will be the best solution for this. To begin with, authorities are advised to raise the tax on processed and junk foods. Consequently, the costs can be less attractive for the population. Things like soft drinks, packaged bread and buns, chips, candies, instant noodles, boxed cake mixes and others are the most well-known junk meals and play a relevant role in fattening diets. Processed food corporations invest a huge amount of money in these. Afterwards, people will tend to consume high-levelled sugar and fat so-called delicious snacks. In fact, several individuals are too busy with work or are too lazy to cook homemade meals or to eat healthy things. Therefore, some organisations manufacture high-calorie products because of great profit. After that, people purchase these items. The solution for this issue is to raise the tax and cost of the product. As a result, the figure of selling fattening foods can be diminished as well as the level of obesity. But, it will not be very effective. In a nutshell, although raising the price of high-calorie food may help reduce obesity levels, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint. Because there are wealthy people too who can still afford these kinds of foods. There are more effective alternatives available to solve this problem.