The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Since the cars were introduced in England in 1888, the number of people driving it has dramatically increased. There are no international laws to reduce the number of people buying and using it, neither the encouragement for other forms of transports has been introduced. Overall, I agree with the statement and the importance of new rules, and the necessity of different transports for the public to be encouraged to use it. Firstly, the encouragement for the public to use alternative transport has to be implemented. For example, the government could reduce the cost of monthly train and bus pass. Alternatively, for those that use it, they could reduce tax on their salaries or give some money back. I am quite sure that the public will be more than happy to start using other transport with this encouragement. Secondly, the importance of international laws to control car ownership and use have to be implemented. For instance, new fines could be added for those that have more than 3 cars in the household and at the weekend the use of the cars should be limited by 1 for the family. These rules will limit the number of people buying cars and using it when they do not need. In conclusion, I totally agree with the statement and the necessity of new rules for people buying and using cars, also encouraging the use of alternative transports, such as trains and buses will help. So, the number of cars on the British Road will not exceed the limit and the environment will not be so affected by pollution.