Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Lots of governments consider economic progress as their most important goal. Some people believe that some types of progress should be equally important. I agree with the second idea. I admit that economic process is an important goal. Governments have the responsibility to help people leaving poverty. In a country with a well - developed economy, more and more people will become richer. They will be satisfied with the government since their life quality is improved. What's more, economic development can attract investment, which can be used in further construction. However, other types of progress are important as well. There are some basic areas which are as important as the development of economy. For example, technology development is important for a country. On the one side, technology can help people free from their busy life. On the other side, development in technology improves economic advance because it can earn a large amount of wealth. Medicine is another area which is really needed to be developed. Men cannot buy health no matter how much wealth he owned. There are many patients who are suffering from the disease but cannot be cured, so government should consider developing health system as one of the most important goals. What's more, better medical treatment can let people live longer, so they can contribute more to the society. In conclusion, although economic building is important, some types of process, such as science and medicine research, is as important as economic advance since money cannot buy everything.