Nowadays, it seems that different generations within the family spend less time together. Why is that? Is it a positive or negative development?

The amount of time teenagers hang around with their parents has dropped. Firstly, I will tell the cause of family members spending less their time together. Secondly, I will address the negative effects of that if it keeps happening in the future. Each family member was born in a different era. Thus, there is an age gap between parents and their children. For this reason, the timeline differences made their conversations’ topics based on each generation’s society. Henceforth, this knowledge differentiation can lead to an awkward situation, making it easier to misunderstand. For instance, a survey in 2023 shows that the baby boomer generation mostly talks about the World War era, whereas Gen Z likes to talk about technologies, making both do not have topics in common. Although this may be the case, teenagers do not have a problem when they communicate with their parents. Of course that could be true, but the manners among generations are different. To illustrate, baby boomer generations think that using slang words with the older is rude when being asked by an Instagram celebrity on the street. On the contrary, newer generations are fine with those. All things considered, the limited conversation is the reason why they do not spend time together that much. Due to the reduced conversation between family members, parents, and children found it difficult to understand each other. As a consequence, children ’s thinking is sometimes being misinterpreted. However, 4 out of 5 parents believe that they know their children the most when being interviewed by a community in the social media, Creativefox. Additionally, a similar result is collected by the other group, Dailymail. At the same time, children sometimes have difficulties when they want to express their feelings because they rarely talk with each other. The most compelling evidence of this is when they are being asked how they think about their parents on an Indian National TV Show, CNBC India. They also question their parents ' opinions about how their kids perceive them. The given results are shocking to them as none of their answers are right. Under that circumstance, the minimum amount of time they hang around will lead to the children do not know how to express themself. In the long run, it makes parents not know what their children exactly what they want and need.. Overall, age differences are the main cause of the limited time families spend their time together. This leads to some complications if that continues. In other words, it makes it hard for the parents and the children to understand each other.