The tradition that the family gets together to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

The tradition of sitting together and having a meal is years old. Previously, people used to enjoy, share stories of their day and have a good time with their family at the dinner table. However, this culture is rapidly disappearing and there are several reasons behind it. Firstly, we are leading a fast life nowadays and the young generation is occupied with their education and work. The competition, which is fierce now, is the main reason of their busy schedule. For example, as I work late, I miss the family dinner almost every other day. Hence, even if we try, it’s not possible sometimes to have a meal together. Another point to consider is that, after an exhausting day, it might be stressful for some people having a chat or discussion late at night, especially when they will have to return to work the next day. I have seen many people go straight to bed after coming home and leave early the next day. Therefore, the lack of time can be another reason behind this vanishing practice. Lastly, families are scattered throughout the world these days. For instance, many of my friends stay abroad and come to their home country only once a year. Thus, it is not possible for them to sit together and have a hearty conversation every day. Therefore, it is true that a family meal is a rare sight now and it can have several negative side effects. On the one hand, the bonding between the family members are loosening and on the other hand, loneliness are creeping in, increasing the number of mental health problems and suicide. To conclude, according to me, we should value our family and should enjoy even the little time we get to spend each other, while we are alive. This will not only increase the love that a family share among themselves, but also will nurture us emotionally.