Some people think that cars are the best way to travel in a city, while others think that bicycle is better. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It is sometimes said that cars are by far a better form of transport within a city compared to bicycles. In my opinion, travelling by bicycle brings about more benefits to the individual and the environment. On the one hand, many people claim that commuting in a city by bicycle is surely beneficial for the average person and the environment, and I agree for several reasons. Firstly, it helps people to stay healthy and fit, as it helps them to burn off excess calories, which is highly needed to counteract people’s sedentary lifestyles these days. A second reason is that cycling is often regarded as the most eco-friendly form of transport as opposed to the other means that run by fossil fuels. The other forms release detrimental emissions that ruin the environment and aggravate global warming, while a bicycle release none. On the other hand, other people claim that cars offer many benefits to their users. This is mainly because it is more comfortable, according to them. To illustrate, most cars have built-in cushioned seats, air conditioning, and other luxuries, which bicycles lack. Besides, people consider that travelling by car can save people’s lives, irrespective of the length of the trip or the time of the day. Take, for instance, for a pregnant woman who must give birth in a short time or a seriously injured person, the use of a car may play a crucial role in saving their lives. In conclusion, while it might be believed that cars are a more advantageous form of transport, I think that bicycle use is vital for people’s health and may alleviate serious environmental problems that we are faced with.