When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance.To what extent do you agree?

Today, instances of fancy architectural patterns can be seen everywhere around the globe. In the viewpoint of some people, when designing a building its functionality is extremely important, and hence, more attention should be paid to it, compared to the aesthetics of the project. In my view, how the complex will be used, is a key factor, but its looks are equally important. This essay will augment my opinion. On one hand, when planning the building, an architect should keep in mind the usage of it. To cite an example, if a college campus is being constructed, it is inevitable for it to consist of spacious parking lots, airy and well-lit classrooms, broad hallways as well as easily accessible washrooms. If these basic necessities are not available, it would be considered dysfunctional, even if, it has a marvellous appearance. Additionally, it will be highly inconvenient for the students to learn in dark and dull rooms. Therefore, it can be said that the campus would be useless, in spite of its great looks. On the other hand, the aesthetics of the complex add to the surrounding beauty as well as lift people's spirits. For instance, a study has shown that bright and vibrant coloured building, can change a person's mood, while making him cheerful and optimistic. Furthermore, they can act as tourist attractions and benefit the economy of a nation. To illustrate this, The University of Windsor, attracts numerous travellers every year, and thousands of international students choose it as their study destination over numerous other options, due to its different architectural patterns, which brings foreign revenue to the country and enhances its economy. This depicts the prominence of the form. To conclude, the usage of the building along with the looks should be considered, when planning a project. In my opinion, the form and function of the complex should be fused together, in order to deliver exceptional results to the consumer.