In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this contemporary epoch, a certain proportion of people are shifting their purchases to the huge shopping centres rather than visiting to local traders of their area. In my opinion, there are various drawbacks to this scenario. This essay will delve into the advantages and disadvantages of this change and will lead to a logical conclusion as well. To begin with, the most prominent benefit of this change is that it helps individuals to change the items of various brands at different prices. As they get a variety of products, this assists them in purchasing the items under their budget line. Moreover, another reason could be convenience because any items can be chosen at shopping malls starting from groceries, clothes, medicines, shoes, and many more. However, local traders encourage the humans to get the items more conveniently as they are available in every town or village which helps to save time travelling to the city for shopping. Moreover, the local seller provides product warranties as well that give security to purchasers. Although the local trader never compromises the quality of their items whether they are clothes or food, still humans get allured by the beauty of malls According to my viewpoint, this development is negative for society because the local traders are losing this importance in the market and are coping with the issues of financial crisis despite their excellent services. Besides, malls have become ubiquitous but there are numerous negative effects of malls on society, it has led to exacerbation of pollution, they have taken over land that could be used for residential purposes. Meanwhile, they are promoting foreign products then local ones. To conclude, as per the testimonials mentioned above it is crystal clear that more importance should be given to the local sellers only rather the choosing foreign brands because locals are more trustworthy and convenient.