It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that we should spend wealth to build new buildings rather than to renovate old architectures because this is extremely costly. I disagree with the given statement. In my opinion, old buildings has its own past and there are many reasons such as business for local, economic benefits and business for local people to preserve historical structures. To begin with, historical buildings create employment for local people. Many people, both nationally and foreigner come to visit these, so they stay nearby areas. A lot of hotels, restaurants and other shops earn from them by selling goods and services to them. For example, Kurukshetra, a holy place as per a Hindu holy book, thousands of people visit there to see historical temples and trees every day and local people get employment from this. Secondly, old structures also beneficial for the economy. People visit these buildings and spend huge money to see these once. To exemplify, The Taj Mahal, one of the seven wonders of the world is very famous in India, Indian government earns a huge amount of money from entrance tickets and similarly they spend wealth to maintain this as well. If the government stop maintaining this, people lose interest from this which will be economical lose for India. Finally, Every country has its own history and citizen of a country get a chance to know about their past from these buildings. To illustrate with an example, ancient kings and queens build superstructure and temples to show their love towards it. Authorities should allocate a fair amount of fund to restore and maintain these superstructures, so people can come and see their glorious past. To conclude, old buildings are priceless and the government should allocate a fair amount of money to maintain these. It helps their economy, generate local employment and citizens of the country will learn from these.