It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Moral values are vital to be learned to youngsters at the formation age, and some people believe that punishment is essential to teach children those things. In my opinion, I totally agree with teaching our new generation the right and wrong; however, I am not supporting the idea of punishing them to learn. On the one hand, I believe that teach our children to do the right things and neglect the bad things is a foundation for their future. This is because those values are the cornerstone when children grow up and start dealing with their community and serve the society. For example, in Egypt, Ministry of Education is adopting certain nurture procedures along with families to convey these ethical points to children. In contrast, if these values are not passed to young people, the crime rate will be increased in the upcoming generations dramatically. On the other hand, I do not recommend the punishment method as one way to transfer ethics. The main reason is that this way may destroy children’s personality, which could lead to severe damage to their feelings. For instance, corporal penalization method, which is adopted by many families, has a severe impact on a child’s personality. As a result, this could make a child to be an introvert person in the future, and not capable to deal with the society in a normal way. Furthermore, if this method becomes a trend among parents, we will have unstable characters between future generations. In conclusion, although I hold the notion that passing the moral knowledge to children is mandatory to generate a healthy community, I think that punishment will create unstable generations in our society.