Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There have been quite a large amount of movies and programmes that have been aired in the past decade all portraying different genres within the cinema world as such tailored to meet the satisfaction of its customers. This however has led to a development of opposing views from the general public with some being of the opinion that some of the content being televised such as violent scenes have prompted aggressive behaviour in reality. In this essay, l would like to discuss both views and give reasons as to why l agree with the given statement. To begin with, it is largely arguable that they are to blame for the conduct of certain individuals within the society. Thus, some of the scenes that are shown or acted out by our favourite actors may seem to be amusing when watched at first, however, in actual fact they will be doing great damage to us psychologically, to illustrate, there have been a lot of gang violence and shooting within the younger generation in USA and UK, and most of it has stemmed from actions in movies and shows like Top Boy which they have adopted as a lifestyle and means to survival as such it is not a surprise to see a teenager carrying a gun or knife that is why as a result many of them are serving time in jail. Moreover, a streaming service called Netflix has introduced a parental tool where parents monitor what their children watch to reduce such incidences of children learning the wrong things online. On the other hand, such brutality can be caused by other factors besides the influence of motion pictures. Initially, people may suffer from emotional and physical trauma which later fuels cruelty, for instance, statistics have shown that most people who practice being cruel may have been victims of physical abuse at a tender age like domestic violence and being bullied which are both traumatic experiences that alter a person's behaviour for the worst. In conclusion, while it is recognisable to say there are other factors that can promote such way of behaving such as traumatic episodes within one's life, in fact, what we watch and see has to a greater extent a much larger impact and also the reason why am in total agreement with it.