Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experience we may have in our life. Which do you consider to be major influence?

The inherited characters we are born with affects our behaviour and growth is what research states, but some do believe that our experience with life may also affect us. Certainly, the genes majorly influence our growth, but our experiences are the one which moulds our thinking. Many findings in the field of genetics prove that our physiological developments are very much based on our genes. Our DNA is our unique biological identity which helps us develop our physiological identity. But, this is limited to, our outer body appearance and body function, what we think and how we behave is not dependent on the characters we are born with. Therefore, only the development of the body is dependent on the inherited traits. For example, there are many diseases which transferred from parents to progeny like sickle-cell anaemia, colour blindness, haemophilia and many more. On the other hand, our personality and behaviour is often dependent on our encounters with different situations. A child's surrounding environment and incidents makes a long lasting impression on his mind. A bad incident changes the child's outlook towards the world forever. Also, it is very often seen that a happy and healthy environment in the house fills children with positivity and leads to the development of a good personality. Many researches in child psychology have proven that a bad or a good experience at an early age leave a deep impact on the child's mind. To summarize, along with inherited traits which controls the outer appearance and inner functioning, experiences affects the personality and thoughts of the child.