Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Academic knowledge should be taught to help students pass exams while other skills like cooking or dressing are not necessary. Personally, I partly agree with this statement because of some major reasons which I shall explain in more detail in this essay. On the one hand, academic knowledge is very important for students because it is the foundation for students to pursue their careers. To be exact, a student who wants to study in the university must pass exams involving academic subjects. Therefore, spending time learning skills such as cooking or dressing is thought to be a waste of time and should not. This idea has resulted in subjects involving cooking, dressing, and so on not being taught in some regions. For example, in Vietnam, many schools do not teach cooking and dressing skills. On the other hand, cooking and dressing skills can contribute to success for a person and help them balance their life easily. For instance, if two people attend an interview and they have the same level of work however one person who dresses more suitable than the other will win. Additionally, a person who can cook can not only cook their meals actively but also cook for others. This action makes people around will attend and love them more. Therefore it can foster potential friendships which can yield opportunities in career, education, and love. Finally, I believe that skills such as cooking or dressing should be taught in schools and they are subjects that students have the freedom to engage in. I partly agree with the idea that students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills like cooking or dressing should not be taught because I believe that other skills such as cooking and dressing can contribute to success for a person and help them balance their life easily, hence, they should be taught as sub-subjects in schools.