Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people say that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

In the modern life, there is no denying that advertisement has had a great impact on our daily life, capable of inducing people to purchase items. However, there exists a different school of thought that the ubiquity of this persuading business practice has been so palpable that the masses have gradually shown indifference to it. This essay would make an attempt to shed some light on both perspectives before drawing my own reasoned conclusion. Undoubtedly, the people’s daily shopping habit could be mainly attributable to the powerful influence of advertising coverage. The justification is that nowadays, the appearing frequency of advertisements is overwhelmingly high via regularly used platforms of people, for example, social media or television shows. Given as cut-throat the competition among a wide range of products is, marketers are constantly conducting intense marketing campaigns on these channels to capture the general public’s attention. Therefore, viewers could somewhat absorb the alluring advertisement’s content by being continually bombarded by it and, effectively, be enticed to make a purchase. On the other hand, I lean towards the idea that people have lost interest in concerning the omnipresent state of advertisements. The first underlying factor is that a myriad of advertisements have overstated the true quality or exaggerated the actual functions of products, which has an adverse bearing on their credibility. To provide a supporting example, many types of medicine actually do not bring the advertised effects to users or even cause several unfavourable side effects. Another worth mentioning point is that advertising videos or images could be very irritating due to their increasing frequency as mentioned above. In other words, they might interrupt the flow of an engrossing romantic movie, or a substantive reality show on a daily basis, which audiences try to enjoy after a laborious working day as it is. In conclusion, despite the delusional inclination that advertisements have ingrained in the masses’ mind, I contend that this trend is on the decline and people have gradually found the prevalent presence of advertisements rather objectionable.