Transport delays and long journey times are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem and how could the situation be improved

These days almost every person is fed up of poor transportation system in metropolitan cities which causes delays in longer or shorter journeys. There are several main causes and solutions which will be discussed in the essay. To begin with, probably the main cause is that population in the conurbations has increased dramatically in the last few years as a result, it has become very tough to control the old infrastructure, as the number of residents increased so does the vehicles. This means too many vehicles use the existing network and congestion is inevitable. Secondly, public transport system is unsatisfactory as people tend to choose private transport over the public. Lastly, the other cause can be the funding or investment as these systems require a close care day-to-day to improve the traffic system in the major districts. Regarding potential solutions, the main remedy would be to encourage investment in better infrastructure, for example, subsidies or private-public partnerships could improve the system to upgrade roads to advanced level and deploy cameras to catch violators. Additionally, the government should act strictly to improve public transport and impose high level taxes on private cars, increase oil prices and cheaper the prices of public transportation to attract the public to use the transport. Nevertheless, communal car-pooling is also a better option for persons whose destinations are same to reduce the strain on traffic. To conclude, overcrowding and increased number of vehicles cannot be accommodated in the old network. High authorities should consider these problems and take appropriate action like to provide funding and take necessary actions to reduce heavy traffic jams on roads.