A person should never make an important decision alone. Do you agree or disagree with this following statement?

It is argued that individuals need to be discouraged from making crucial decisions without listening to others’ opinions. Personally, I agree with this viewpoint because everyone’s knowledge is limited, and we might make irrevocable mistakes if we disregard valuable advice. To begin with, most of us do not have a full grasp of a situation due to our insufficient understanding of the world, which leads us to biased judgements and flawed conclusions. This universal drawback, if not corrected or mitigated, may have a damaging effect on career and development, especially in terms of vital life decisions. Take the example of myself. When deciding which university to attend and what subject to study, I completely ignored all the advice and instructions given by my family members and teachers, and I ended up disliking the school and the courses I had to learn. Consequently, my life was changed by that decision that I made alone. Moreover, it is always beneficial to look at different ideas and discuss them with others before making a call. Doing so can not only dissolve discriminatory thoughts and prejudices but also develop the ability to think critically. The importance of listening to others can be illustrated by the famous case of Tsar Peter, one of the greatest Russian emperors and a remarkable listener. The open-minded Tsar always welcomed dissimilar opinions and even dissenting voices when he needed to modify a policy or reform Russian society. Although Peter still made several wrong choices in his long reign, his less dictatorial rule turned Russia into a formidable powerhouse in Europe. In short, as the adage “successful people are always good listeners” suggests, to reduce risks and get better results, we should avoid being autocratic and learn to be grateful for different points of view. In closing, for the majority of us, it is injudicious to try to plumb a life-defining dilemma on our own, as it often contains complexities that are beyond our abilities. Thus, individuals need to embrace a variety of ideas before making a final decision and should not jump to conclusions without listening to others.