Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extnet do you agree or disagree with this?

It is debated by some people that the locations occupied by public parks should be utilised for developing industries and accommodation to fulfil the emerging needs of the population. I completely disagree with this statement as parks are crucial for enhancing the physical health of people of all age groups and for improving relationships between people in a society. To commence with, recreational areas such as parks are important as they provide space for engaging in physical activities. Children, youngsters and older people spend their leisure time in the parks by playing games, and sports such as running and walking. These activities help them indulge their body in physical workout, which further improves their stamina and ability to resist diseases such as obesity and cardiovascular issues. For instance, people living in cities do not have enough space and time to do exercises, going to parks every day motivates them to engage in physical activities with their colleagues and friends. Therefore, such public places are of significance in providing open space to people to opt for healthy habits. Additionally, gatherings in parks provide an opportunity for the local residents to build relationships with their neighbours and other people who visit those parks. People who are aged and experience loneliness are often prone to stress because they do not have anyone to talk to as their immediate family members are busy in their lives. Parks enhance interactions of people, which leads to making new friends and improving relationships with the natives who meet on a daily basis. Moreover, having a strong bond with neighbours will be effective if a person needs help in case of emergencies. To conclude, though the increasing population raises the demand for accommodation and employment but parks are very important for the physical health and well-being of the people. The government can locate other ways to tackle the needs of the growing cities.