Some people think that they should be able to keep the money they earn and do not have to pay tax. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Opinions differ as to whether residents should have the right to save their hard-earned salary and should not have an obligation in paying taxes. Personally, I strongly opposed this statement. To start with, it’s common knowledge that duty revenue is utilised to pay for the public services and facilities infrastructure such as road infrastructure or public transportation. Furthermore, there is a strong connection between tax and old age pension, unemployment benefit and other financial aids. In addition, the emergency agents are funded by state taxes. For those reasons above, I am of the opinion that each individual should have the responsibility to pay the share money to support the government. Another point to consider is the fact that the residents can reap a great number of benefits not only for each one but also for the whole society. First and foremost, tax revenue is used to spend on social welfare, which will be funded to offer access to education for children from low-income families. Therefore, this will eventually eliminate illiteracy and might shake off poverty. One more benefit is that the levy is allocated to fund for the social security network. As a result, the society will be kept safe from social ills. Opponents of the above statement might argue that the amount of money, which they have kept owing to their refusal to pay levy, can become their retirement savings and they do not need the government’s pension. This might be a reasonable claim on the surface, but with a great number of demerits of social issues, they certainly need to reconsider. To summarise, I am firmly of the opinion that each resident should contribute to the society by paying taxes.