In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people traveling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technologies resulting in solutions in many aspects to assist people in their daily lives for instance health care, transportations and education. One of the technologies that help people in transportation is automobile transportation which does not have a driver to commute. Furthermore, these innovations might have pros and cons on a daily life basis. In terms of passenger safety due to the malfunction of the system, the advantage that provides passengers to reduce the stress driving is untradeable. Thus, I wholeheartedly disagree with this innovation. The aim of self-driving cars is to travel at ease and provide people with multitasking during traveling. Travelers could enlarge their capabilities to do other business due to the fact that autonomous vehicles are equipped with incident prevention mechanisms to reduce the possibilities of unexpected tragedy such as self-braking that enables the cars to stop when detecting sudden objects. On the other hand, this mechanism is like a two-edged sword that also has cons. Over years after driverless technologies in mobility commercial extensively, many incidents have been reported. A self-driving vehicle has sensors that detect the environment during commute, it prevents a sudden brake and reduces the possibilities of crashing with other cars. However, technologies built by humans have the potential to give an error in their system. Any malfunctions in the vehicles might occur, for instance the sensor failed to recognize other cars and once the passengers are not aware, it enhances the possibility of unexpected incidents. This incident occurred in a free-way in Indonesia where a driverless car failed to recognize an object as another vehicle and a sudden maneuver led the car crashing through a barrier. Thus, it does not seem these technologies are successfully fulfilling their aim for people to travel at ease. To sum up, the purpose of a system to automate the mobility of vehicles is to give more experiences for passengers. However, by seeing the possibilities of unexpected injuries that occur due to the malfunction of the system, it could be said that this vehicle is not recommended for people in terms of safety and needs further improvement such as enhancing sensor accuracy to recognize objects.