Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There exists a common fallacy that verbal language is dominant in comparison with non-verbal one. Despite a huge number of proponents of this controversial statement, I could assert my opinion with utter certainty that both two forms are of contextually equal importance. This essay would make an attempt to shed some light on my assertion. In the first place, admittedly, in everyday communication situations, the spoken word might have a more pivotal role to play. Since daily conversations usually require a specific level of emotional expression, such as anger, pleasure or sorrow, spoken language could be in a position to facilitate this whereas written one could not. In other words, thanks to the tone of our voice and our body language, we could convey our true feelings and emotions, therefore, successfully attaining the purposes of communication. To provide a supporting example, one is offering a friend a few words of consolation whose mother have just got into a tragic accident. In this case, emotional icons people usually use to send when texting or even a letter of condolence could not express our sympathy and compassion at its best. Conversely, written language could be considered omnipotent compared to its rival in formal events which demand a serious and neutral tone. Business context would be the epitome of this where involved parties have to sustain a professional attitude towards one another. In this aspect, written words could make people sound more dispassionate and objective, which are among many highly revered characteristics in the business world. Another favourable asset of which written words have in possession is their ability to preserve information. Documents are the quintessence of this fantastic feature. To be more exact, dissension or countless of debates could be solved at ease if there were enough convincing written evidence such as an illegal contract. In conclusion, I strongly believe that each of the forms of communication has its very own uniqueness which would be absolutely indispensable if put in the right context or situations.