Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In the modern society, people have learnt how to harness natural or renewable sources of energy, such as wind energy or hydro power. Outstandingly, solar energy is regarded as one of the most potent as well as vastly available among all, which has gained traction worldwide in recent years. There exist several underlying reasons for this phenomenon, as a result, it has brought both benefits and drawbacks to human life, which will be illustrated as follows. In the first place, a number of favourable factors could hold explanation for this increasingly popular trend. Firstly, solar energy is beneficial as it curbs the electricity bills enormously when compared to using traditional electric energy. In other words, households, in the long run, can save a tremendous amount of money spent on monthly bill payments. Secondly, this source provides the energy as powerful as conventionally generated electricity. For example, one experiment in London in 2010 conducted by experts proved that a small amount of solar energy could operate five air-conditioners at the same time, which was required a ten-time bigger amount of electricity. On a larger scale, solar energy is environmentally-friendly. To be more exact, this system takes advantage of the natural sunlight, which is unlimited and induces negligible carbon footprints, to convert into energy used in daily activities such as such as to light bulbs or to operate household appliances. Therefore, the environment does not have to suffer from detrimental effects which could be witnessed in the customary way of generating electricity. For instance, a vast area of trees could be cut down to make room for dams - an indispensable feature in traditional electricity production. On the other hand, this seemingly magical source of energy has several demerits that are worth mentioning. One obvious drawback is that solar energy is not practicable in nations where there is little or weak sunlight or the duration of daytime is rather short. These cases could be seen in many nations adjacent to the two poles, such as Russia or Iceland. Another unfavourable aspect is that the cost of solar harnessing system installation could be prohibitively expensive for some low or average-income households. Additionally, the money for the maintenance of this system would also be a heavy financial burden that should be taken into consideration. In conclusion, there is a range of driving factors behind the popularity of solar energy. Irrespective of having both beneficial and undesirable aspects, this carbon-free source is inexorably securing a stable position in practical usages.