In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In many nations the minority can take a year off after their high schooling for a trip or job before they enrolled in degree courses. This trend has both benefits as well as drawbacks. Both, profits and detriments are discussed in the ensuing paragraphs. There are many positive sides for young people to take a break for an one year between their school and college study. The most important benefit is that young people learn many skills and get real experience about what is happing in the whole world. To elaborate this, if students can tour, they can interact with many people and know about the other country’s culture, tradition and life style. Moreover, teens can build their confidence. They can more punctual about their work. Another positive outcome is that while travelling or working, young people could acquire maturity and this would help them perform well when they join the educational institution. On the other hand, many drawbacks for students, who spend one year working and travelling before joining the university education. The first one is that if the youth decide to work, they might get to receive an income and because of this they cannot come back into student life. The second one is that travelling is expensive activity and student who travel for one year require a huge amount of money. This could be spent on their university study. So, they will get a job with expensive salary and higher position in the future. In addition, students are too young to travel by themselves and this might put them into some dangerous situation. For instance, younger student are not mature enough and they may get involved in illegal activities such as selling drugs, and crime. In conclusion, younger students can take a break from working and travelling between their high school and educational institution study. This trend has some benefits that the minority can develop many new skills and knowledge. However, it might be a negative impact on their university education.