Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether death penalties should be allowed for serious crimes or not. Certainly, the effectiveness of this type of punishment is notable. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I strongly believe that this legal action should be continued. To begin with, we need to realize the benefits brought by the existence of capital punishment. For instance, even if some wicked people schemed to murder others for their own purposes, if they understood that there was a possibility that they would need to compensate for their violations by death, they would be less likely to carry out those plans. This is because they can easily imagine that the entire cost to carry out serious illegal action will not exceed the total satisfaction they can obtain by doing so. In other words, if there is no cost to pay when their illegal behaviours are recognized by the police, those people will execute their schemes as soon as possible because they can achieve their own purposes without any sacrifice. Therefore, the existence of capital punishment is meaningful and essential for us to protect our society. On the other hand, as some people argue, giving death to criminals is somehow immoral. As they potentially consider, the behaviour of taking somebody’s life should be regulated rigidly because there is no alternative to life. For example, if someone dies for any reason, that life ends at that point, and even if we wish to redeem that life again, that dream will never come true because of the nature of life. In fact, there are still risks as could be seen in the case where it becomes obvious that the person who received this extreme sentence did not commit any crime, after the execution of penalties. However, it is also true that due to the existence of this extreme punishment, some illegal behaviours are not practised because people are afraid of death, and they acknowledge that this principle is unavoidable. Thus, having laws which explicitly mention that death penalties exist against extremely serious criminals is one of the most effective ways to create and maintain a peaceful community. In conclusion, whereas there are some opinions that the implementation of capital punishment is morally questionable, it is true that we are able to prevent some crimes beforehand. For this reason, I suppose that this type of punishment should be kept and applied to serious cases.